Movie Night

Les MiserablesLate this afternoon, my boyfriend and I watched Les Misérables at the movie theater. The first time I heard of this novel/story/work of art was when I saw the theater adaptation at the Pantages Theatre in Los Angeles. I was pretty young and had never read the novel, but I loved it. It was powerful, beautiful, and moving.
So when I re-visited Les Misérables with this movie, (I’ve also seen an older movie) I was kind of excited.

What I liked: The music was lovely. The singing was good, but not like Broadway (obviously). I think the actors and actresses fit their roles well. The Baron-Cohen and Bonham Carter duo served as fantastic comic relief. I liked how the costumes weren’t ridiculously frivolous or over the top.

What I didn’t like: I know this particular adaptation is a musical, and I understand that, but I felt like it was a bit excessive. It was beautifully executed, but I found some parts to be dragging and slow. I thought the scenery was alright. I know that wasn’t the focus of the film, but I would have liked some gorgeous views or something breathtaking to look at.

Other than that, I found the movie enjoyable and moving. I would recommend this film to anyone who likes musicals, Victor Hugo, French literature, historically-based movies, period dramas, and Broadway.

My rating: 7/10

Comment!

